The Last Homely Site on the Web

Amending the Charter

Post Reply   Page 1 of 4  [ 71 posts ]
Jump to page 1 2 3 4 »
LalaithUrwen
Post subject: Amending the Charter
Posted: Thu 20 Sep , 2007 3:33 pm
The Grey Amaretto as Supermega-awesome Proud Heretic Girl

Well, let's talk about it. And I mean even talk about it to the point of changing the process of how we amend it. At this point, I think a reasonable waiting period and a majority vote would be sufficient, but I am no lawyer. I'm not sure we even need to have a committee and all of that, with the lower number of active posters.

Here are my thoughts:

1) We need to make the charter more flexible for the rangers to do their job of keeping the peace on the board.

2) We should consider making the charter amendment process a little bit easier.

3) We need to make continued disruption of the board by a member a punishable offense. I'm not wording that very well; it's just a fragment of an idea at this point, but I think you get the idea.

ETA: I would also be fine with focusing on #3 and following the procedure for amending the charter as it is already established.

Lali

[ img ]

Profile Quote
Alatar
Post subject:
Posted: Thu 20 Sep , 2007 3:46 pm
of Vinyamar

I think the best method is to use the existing charter amendment procedure to put into place an easier method of amendment. Yes, I know it will be painful, but if we do it right once, then subsequent changes should be more manageable.

[ img ]
These are my friends, see how they glisten...

Profile Quote
LalaithUrwen
Post subject:
Posted: Thu 20 Sep , 2007 3:50 pm

In case you missed my edit:

I would also be fine with focusing on one of those 3, particularly #3, and following the established procedures for amending the charter.

In fact, perhaps that would be the best course of action.

Lali

[ img ]

Profile Quote
Lily Rose
Post subject:
Posted: Thu 20 Sep , 2007 4:29 pm
stranded in dreamland